It is currently Tue Nov 20, 2018 8:28 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:42 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 24, 2013
Posts: 2060
Identity: Female
Image


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:26 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 24, 2013
Posts: 5624
That second ability seems like another instance of Frontline Medic syndrome


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:09 pm 
Offline
YMtC Champ '11
YMtC Pro Tour Champion
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 9145
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/my/mine/himself
Being able to draw this card off the Surveil you ditch it with is so incredibly unintuitive to me.

_________________
In the custody of febb since 12.05.16
[Warchief] Custom EDH Project

you're like the kind of person who would cast Necropotence irl


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 3:05 pm 
Offline
YMtC Champ '08

Joined: Dec 24, 2013
Posts: 1157
Mown wrote:
Being able to draw this card off the Surveil you ditch it with is so incredibly unintuitive to me.

Wait what


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:27 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 09, 2015
Posts: 1373
Except you can’t...as it’s still in your library when you do that surveil.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:41 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 24, 2013
Posts: 5624
Yeah it's an intervening if clause so it would need to be true both when the trigger goes on the stack and when it resolves


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 7:32 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5942
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
They confirmed on the Twitch stream where they previewed this that it does trigger when you surveil it into your graveyard. I clipped that part of the stream for reference: https://clips.twitch.tv/DreamyRefinedCasettePJSalt

My best guess would be that the rules check for "when you surveil" triggers at the end of the surveil action, at which point this card is in your graveyard and can trigger.

Edit: I found the relevant rule:
Comprehensive Rules wrote:
603.10. Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game “looks back in time” to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event. The list of exceptions is as follows:

603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.
Example: Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability “Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.” Someone casts a spell that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact’s ability triggers twice, even though the artifact goes to its owner’s graveyard at the same time as the creatures.

603.10b Abilities that trigger when a permanent phases out look back in time.

603.10c Abilities that trigger specifically when an object becomes unattached look back in time.

603.10d Abilities that trigger when a player loses control of an object look back in time.

603.10e Abilities that trigger when a spell is countered look back in time.

603.10f Abilities that trigger when a player loses the game look back in time.

603.10g Abilities that trigger when a player planeswalks away from a plane look back in time.

Ignore the exceptions, because this falls under the normal case. After you surveil, the Blood Operative in your graveyard is a new object, so it checks to see if the event that created it triggers any of its triggered abilities.

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group