It is currently Mon Aug 10, 2020 1:23 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 143 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:45 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 1657
Modulo wrote:
You only have no food available if you play the scryland as your fourth land, meaning you have land number 5 in hand the other way around. Otherwise you keep 1 food.
I personally prefer the scryland as t4 play because this makes you less vulnerable to Wicked Wolf/Petty Theft, but in the ideal scenario both lines should work out to have a t5 Nissa...


Argh damnit putting all these scenarios from memory to text is too hard, I know the gist of it but missed the details somewhere. Let's just assume I didn't have the fifth land, since that is the scenario that matches what I remember.

And yeah, in hindsight, I think sixty4half was right and it was a mistake not to play the Scryland + make a food on turn 4. The Krasis can always be eaten by the Wolf later, but Nissa can win the game (heck Nissa can even make a food the turn she comes down by adding +2 mana).


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 5:48 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 1657
On the draw vs. Gruul in BO1 ...

Turn 1 we both land-go.
On turn 2 he plays Zhur-Taa Goblin without haste. I play Fae of Wishes.
Turn 3, he plays Gruul Spellbreaker, again without haste.

My options are to play Bonecrusher Giant as a 4/3, or play Teferi and bounce the Spellbreaker. What's the play?

Spoiler


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 8:02 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2013
Posts: 3659
Location: Your Head
Banedon wrote:
On the draw vs. Gruul in BO1 ...

Turn 1 we both land-go.
On turn 2 he plays Zhur-Taa Goblin without haste. I play Fae of Wishes.
Turn 3, he plays Gruul Spellbreaker, again without haste.

My options are to play Bonecrusher Giant as a 4/3, or play Teferi and bounce the Spellbreaker. What's the play?

Spoiler

I haven't looked at the spoiler yet. What else is in your hand? And he doesn't need to haste the spellbreaker to kill Teferi, he can do it with the Goblin.

_________________
NGA's First Historic Tournament Champion
My Jersey Wooly: @sirpeanutiii on IG
Team 1 Phantom Ranger

Link to the NGA Dead Pool post - https://nogoblinsallowed.com/viewtopic. ... 55#p663155


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 8:19 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 1657
With Fae of Wishes on the battlefield, he can't kill Teferi with Goblin.

Other cards in hand: some lands, Fires of Invention, Cavalier of Gales.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:07 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr 24, 2017
Posts: 2507
Location: Cucho Lambreta#13992
With spellbreaker at 4/4 you cant even clarion, bouncing Spellbreaker would force him to play him at 3 and thus giving you a chance to clarion... maybe...

_________________
NGA HISTORIC LEAGUE
MANA CLINIC
:planeswalker:


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:57 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2013
Posts: 3659
Location: Your Head
Banedon wrote:
With Fae of Wishes on the battlefield, he can't kill Teferi with Goblin.

Other cards in hand: some lands, Fires of Invention, Cavalier of Gales.
Ahh, my mistake

What I see most people do, and I believe it's correct, is play the Teferi into a suicide situation. It not only buys you a turn, but also draws a card and presents an alternative target for the opponent. It also positions your Fae as a better blocker since Spellbreaker will be a 3/3.

If he has Embercleave you're probably screwed anyways, unless you do get Clarion, which Teferi helps you dig for. Besides, unless it's a 6/6, playing creatures usually doesn't slow Gruul Agro down. Making them recast creatures does though.

_________________
NGA's First Historic Tournament Champion
My Jersey Wooly: @sirpeanutiii on IG
Team 1 Phantom Ranger

Link to the NGA Dead Pool post - https://nogoblinsallowed.com/viewtopic. ... 55#p663155


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2020 8:53 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 1657
Ikoria limited ...

My board: 2x tapped Marmoset, 1x Dranith Stinger, Reptilian Reflection, lots of lands, 11 life
Opponent's board: lots of lands, 2x Whisper Squad, 2 1/1 tokens, Bastion of Remembrance, 2 cards in hand, 6 life

In my hand I have a 2-mana cycler, Pacifism, and a land. Opponent is B/W.

On opponent's turn he attacks with everything. I basically have two options: cycle, animate the Reflection, and block two creatures; or block one only. What's the play? Bonus: on the previous turn, should I have animated the Reflection and attacked with everything except the Stinger?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2020 9:30 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2013
Posts: 3659
Location: Your Head
No blocks, take the 4 damage? Pacify whatever threat he puts on the board, Cycle and swing for the win.

It seems like a desperation swing to me, or he's trying to activate the 2/3 that brings a 1/1 token if he attacked. Maybe he has a board wipe so he can gain 4/deal 4 but that's a problem whether you block or not (but you don't want the 4/5 raptor on the board when he does). I don't see a reason to block and give him free life.

I guess you could block one but if he has a combat trick you lose the Stinger, and your shot at lethal next turn.

_________________
NGA's First Historic Tournament Champion
My Jersey Wooly: @sirpeanutiii on IG
Team 1 Phantom Ranger

Link to the NGA Dead Pool post - https://nogoblinsallowed.com/viewtopic. ... 55#p663155


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2020 7:28 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18, 2016
Posts: 2987
Location: Anyway the wind blows
Identity: doesnt really matter
Preferred Pronoun Set: to me
I’d block with stinger, assuming opp has 5 open mana. Coordinated Strike is lethal if you don’t. Whisper squad and 1/1 tokens looks like the type of deck that would run it so I’d respect it.

I wouldn’t block with reflection because I would have swung with it the previous turn unless there’s a key piece of info you left out for why you didn’t. If opp trades entire board to kill it, I’m happy with that exchange.

_________________
Duels Decklists, updated 10/03/19


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 7:01 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 1657
Yeah I blocked one creature too thinking about Coordinated Strike (which opponent did have). I dropped to one life and he played another creature postcombat, which made me panic since it seemed like I would die before he does (I'm dead after first strike damage if he blocks Marmoset). But then I remembered I had Pacifism, removed the blocker, and won.

Not sure if I should've swung with everything the previous turn. My thought process was that he would not die anyway, so since it's lethal in two turns I might as well keep Reflection on defense (this also lets me keep up a cycler if I need to pump my Marmosets the next turn). A possible downside is that if I cycled I might've drawn into more action, idk.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2020 8:53 pm 
Online
Member

Joined: Dec 17, 2018
Posts: 149
Cycling introduces some interesting dilemmas into gameplay. I'm not sure if it's healthy for someone like me who is addicted to drawing more cards. That's the point of Magic right?

_________________
Customized cube draft thread.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:04 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 1657
Let's say the board is balanced but in a stall right now, with two creatures staring at two creatures and neither player able to attack. I have a few big creatures left in my deck, as well as an active Skull Prophet, but no gas (and neither does my opponent). I still have cards left in my deck that can use the graveyard, e.g. Survivor's Bond and Back For More, but I don't have either in my hand. Should I put the top two cards of my deck into the graveyard using the Skull Prophet's ability?

In other words, I have graveyard synergies in my deck, but I haven't drawn any of them. Should I mill myself?

I don't know the answer to that, wondering if someone does.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:54 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr 30, 2015
Posts: 1734
I think the general rule is, if you think you're not in danger of milling yourself out it's better to always mill yourself in these situations.

If decking isn't a factor, then if you have any graveyard synergies milling yourself is right because of these graveyard synergies, the only downside is if you happen to flip over all your reanimation spells/bombs, but you are just as likely to have them all be at the bottom of your deck and be getting closer to them by milling yourself so it's pure upside to mill yourself generally.

Basically, it's the same chance that you're getting closer to the good cards as it is that you will throw them into the graveyard, but because you have cards that play with the graveyard it's better to use the prophet

_________________
Future Actual winner of Steam Showdown 5.
I have a Magic Youtube channel, check it out here!
https://www.youtube.com/c/Nighthawk233


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 12:36 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18, 2016
Posts: 2987
Location: Anyway the wind blows
Identity: doesnt really matter
Preferred Pronoun Set: to me
I think it depends on what’s in your graveyard. If you have a good reanimation target (desirable one) and you’re a notable way through your deck already, I would not mill and risk turning over one or both reanimation spells. If your library isn’t getting low and you just have meh targets in the yard, mill mill mill

_________________
Duels Decklists, updated 10/03/19


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:31 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 1657
Ok thanks. Would you not mill if you're splashing a color and there's only one copy of the splashed basic land in the deck? I have bad impressions about cards like Excavation Mole in Ikoria limited for that reason - it means splashes need to have at least two basic lands, with collateral damage to mana base.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 12:22 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18, 2016
Posts: 2987
Location: Anyway the wind blows
Identity: doesnt really matter
Preferred Pronoun Set: to me
I wouldn’t try to build a deck that wants to self mill and employ graveyard recursions, that includes a single splash source that isn’t also recurable (through the GB mutate creature or Abzan ultimatum for example in this set). If you do, you just have to accept the risk of milling that source and eventually drawing a card you can never cast.

I def wouldn’t put mole in deck with a single splash source and no graveyard synergies - mole isn’t a strong enough card on its own (I might put it in a gruul trample deck with no graveyard synergies, but I wouldn’t also splash a 3rd color without backup sources).

_________________
Duels Decklists, updated 10/03/19


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 5:39 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 1657
Well if it's something like a UG deck that has Greater Sandwurm to cycle and I see a Back for More or Unbreakable Bond, I would be pretty interested in splashing them. But if I splash them, then I can't add Mole as an extra enabler, because it means I need at least two Swamps. Either way it's risky, which is why rating for Mole has been going down. It could easily be better as a 3/3 Trample no other abilities.

Here's something else that's been bugging me in Ikoria limited. Would you cycle the Drannith Stinger, or play it?

Image

If it matters, the rest of the deck is:

Image

My understanding is if the spell I'm casting does not meaningfully impact the board, I should cycle and look for something better. But in this case, the Drannith Stinger does kind of impact the board. It could either trade for the Fertilid, or do two damage (since if opponent plays a bigger creature I have Pacifism in hand). On the other hand, it's turn 4, 2-drops have gotten rather out of date, and if I cycle I do at least 1 damage anyway (via the Stinger that's already in play).

What's the play?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2020 6:11 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 19, 2015
Posts: 1844
Banedon wrote:
Here's something else that's been bugging me in Ikoria limited. Would you cycle the Drannith Stinger, or play it?

Image

If it matters, the rest of the deck is:

Image

My understanding is if the spell I'm casting does not meaningfully impact the board, I should cycle and look for something better. But in this case, the Drannith Stinger does kind of impact the board. It could either trade for the Fertilid, or do two damage (since if opponent plays a bigger creature I have Pacifism in hand). On the other hand, it's turn 4, 2-drops have gotten rather out of date, and if I cycle I do at least 1 damage anyway (via the Stinger that's already in play).

What's the play?


I'd move to combat and attack with both creatures (if Fertilid blocks the Stinger, I'd use Fight as One to save it), deferring the decision whether to play Stinger to post-combat.
Think I'd play Stinger in most cases anyway, since the Pacifism in your hand means that Stinger is worth 2 damage at least; quite possibly a lot more if you draw into Cyclers.
If Stinger was the Healer instead, I'd be a bit less inclined to cast it specifically if the Fertilid doesn't block.

_________________
My decks can be found in my deckbuilder archive. Enter here!


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 5:04 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 1657
M21 limited against the #1 mythic player ...

Rewind this turn to before I attacked with Skyscanner. What's the play? Note: the game has been pausing when opponent had 1 green open, which means he has Ranger's Guile (or he's using manual stops to bluff).

Image

The options are:

- Don't attack, cast Gloom Sower. Opponent must have answer or he dies the next turn when the Sower attacks.
- Attack with Deathbloom Thallid, zombie, Skyscanner. Opponent must block. Cast Fetid Imp post-combat and make another token with devotee.
- Attack with Skyscanner, cast Gloom Sower post combat. Opponent must have answer or he dies the next turn when the Sower attacks. Difference with #1 here is that opponent is at one lower life, which matters given he's already low and there's Sanctum to ping.

I picked the last option, not sure if it's right.

Bonus question: the next turn, opponent casts Setessan Training on his double striker, plays Tempered Veteran, and attacks tapping his three non-Pridemalkin creatures. Do I block? If I do, what do I block with?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's the play?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:44 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 18, 2016
Posts: 2987
Location: Anyway the wind blows
Identity: doesnt really matter
Preferred Pronoun Set: to me
I would attack with scanner and play sower.

The way you lose is to pump spells on unblocked double strike. Whether I’d block and what with depends on how much open mana they have. You mentioned them casting two 2 mana spells, which based on the pic would only leave 1 mana open. Did they play a land for the turn and could have Titanic Growth open?

_________________
Duels Decklists, updated 10/03/19


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 143 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group