It is currently Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:58 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:01 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 24, 2013
Posts: 2064
Identity: Female
Image

Echo Storm |
Sorcery (R)
When you cast this spell, copy if for each time you've cast your commander from the command zone this game. You may choose new targets for the copies.
Create a token taht's a copy of target artifact.
An organized and methodical reproduction.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:26 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5963
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
This is a cool way to use a number that players already have to track during a commander game. I'm surprised this hasn't been done before.

Edit: I guess it was done before with Opal Palace, but Echo Storm feels different, because the effect doesn't do anything with your commander.

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:24 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 30, 2014
Posts: 2148
Test User (1)
lol funny i only just realize opal palace gives you more than 1 counters. i always assume it was a flat 1 counter deal and never bother to read the card again.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:25 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 10161
Seems a little underwhelming. I guess you can use it to set up Brudiclad but you'll never get a very high copy count and the effect is worth 2 (Copy Artifact) or 3 on its own.

_________________
"Enjoy your screams, Sarpadia - they will soon be muffled beneath snow and ice."

The Coalition/Phyrexian War Game Rises Again


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:34 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 30, 2014
Posts: 2148
Test User (1)
Seems a little underwhelming. I guess you can use it to set up Brudiclad but you'll never get a very high copy count and the effect is worth 2 (Copy Artifact) or 3 on its own.

5 mana to copy something twice is not bad (easy to cast your commander once right?)

think 3 copies is just gravy on top. and the potential (with say tawno) to go more = rite of replication level.

not saying it's good. i think it's fair and fun.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:37 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5963
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
Gets a little better with partners.

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:39 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 10161
theatog wrote:
Seems a little underwhelming. I guess you can use it to set up Brudiclad but you'll never get a very high copy count and the effect is worth 2 (Copy Artifact) or 3 on its own.

5 mana to copy something twice is not bad (easy to cast your commander once right?)

think 3 copies is just gravy on top. and the potential (with say tawno) to go more = rite of replication level.

not saying it's good. i think it's fair and fun.

True, I forgot it was 1+commander casts not =Commander Casts (or really it just slipped my assessment that the first one would cast). I wonder, though... how does this interact with Partner? If I've cast Rowan once and Will twice, have I cast my commander from my command zone one, two, or three times?

_________________
"Enjoy your screams, Sarpadia - they will soon be muffled beneath snow and ice."

The Coalition/Phyrexian War Game Rises Again


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:39 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 03, 2014
Posts: 1901
Location: Amonkhet
Straight into Riku of Two Reflections it goes.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 12:49 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 30, 2014
Posts: 2148
Test User (1)
theatog wrote:
Seems a little underwhelming. I guess you can use it to set up Brudiclad but you'll never get a very high copy count and the effect is worth 2 (Copy Artifact) or 3 on its own.

5 mana to copy something twice is not bad (easy to cast your commander once right?)

think 3 copies is just gravy on top. and the potential (with say tawno) to go more = rite of replication level.

not saying it's good. i think it's fair and fun.

True, I forgot it was 1+commander casts not =Commander Casts (or really it just slipped my assessment that the first one would cast). I wonder, though... how does this interact with Partner? If I've cast Rowan once and Will twice, have I cast my commander from my command zone one, two, or three times?

3


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:55 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 05, 2014
Posts: 1295
Location: Berk
Identity: Dragon
Look at all those pretty panharmonicons. :takei:


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 4:43 pm 
Offline
YMtC Champ '11
YMtC Pro Tour Champion
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 9156
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/my/mine/himself
Gets a little better with partners.

From what I remember of the partner mechanic, you choose one of your partners to count for the commander storm count.

_________________
In the custody of febb since 12.05.16
[Warchief] Custom EDH Project

you're like the kind of person who would cast Necropotence irl


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 4:53 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5963
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
Mown wrote:
Gets a little better with partners.

From what I remember of the partner mechanic, you choose one of your partners to count for the commander storm count.

I figured each casting of either of your commanders would count as a time you cast your commander, but I'm really not sure. I'm honestly really surprised they didn't cover this at all in the release notes that came out today.

Edit: I found a tweet from the rules manager. You count both commanders.

https://twitter.com/EliShffrn/status/10 ... 3660037120

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 9:24 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 11291
Location: Kamloops, BC
Identity: Male
theatog wrote:
lol funny i only just realize opal palace gives you more than 1 counters. i always assume it was a flat 1 counter deal and never bother to read the card again.

Me too.

_________________
Cato wrote:
CotW is a method for ranking cards in increasing order of printability.

*"To YMTC it up" means to design cards that have value mostly from a design perspective. i.e. you would put them in a case under glass in your living room and visitors could remark upon the wonderful design principles, with nobody ever worring if the cards are annoying/pointless/confusing in actual play

TPrizesW
TPortfolioW


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: [C18-ICD] Echo Storm
PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 6:20 am 
Offline
YMtC Champ '11
YMtC Pro Tour Champion
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 9156
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/my/mine/himself
Mown wrote:
Gets a little better with partners.

From what I remember of the partner mechanic, you choose one of your partners to count for the commander storm count.

I figured each casting of either of your commanders would count as a time you cast your commander, but I'm really not sure. I'm honestly really surprised they didn't cover this at all in the release notes that came out today.

Edit: I found a tweet from the rules manager. You count both commanders.

https://twitter.com/EliShffrn/status/10 ... 3660037120

Seems a bit counter-intuitive when 702.123e is a thing, but fair enough.

_________________
In the custody of febb since 12.05.16
[Warchief] Custom EDH Project

you're like the kind of person who would cast Necropotence irl


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group