It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:35 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 103 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:43 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 08, 2018
Posts: 334
Sworn Companions alone beats Rats :)


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:04 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 28, 2015
Posts: 4842
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: uhhhhh
Everything beats rats.

_________________
KLD Season King of the Hill Winner.
EMN Season King of the Hill Winner.

The one true King of NGA Magic Duels on Xbox One.

You want some? Come get some. You don't like me? Bite me.

Day 1,000 of the never-ending Vert monarchy.

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=16077

Magic's a simple game, 2 people take turns playing cards and in the end Divinevert wins 2-0...


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:27 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 02, 2013
Posts: 4090
Location: 1,824.5 meters underground.
Preferred Pronoun Set: Mr.
divinevert wrote:
Everything beats rats.

Thank you for stroking my ego.

_________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt. - Mark Twain

Undercity Coliseum Tournament and NGA KOTH up now and streaming (sometimes)!!!! Make sure you subscribe.
https://www.youtube.com/user/thedevilwuster
My band Shakey Deal YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBpPU1fbAjSPTfu3g0vubLw
Shakey Deal Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/ShakeyDeal.Neil.Young.tribute/


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 10:40 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr 24, 2017
Posts: 1220
Location: Cucho Lambreta#13992
Boris Angels vs Merfolks G3 Competitive Constructed
T1
Opponent Land go
Me Land go
T2
Opponent Taped land go
Me land into Tocali Honor Guard
-Oops-
Opponent rage quit!

_________________
:planeswalker:


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2018 11:05 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov 09, 2013
Posts: 1624
Location: Wroclaw, Poland
Tocatli is the new FotM :D meta defining card :-)


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:33 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 944
How to throw a game while making "good plays":

1) Have Ornery Goblin block opponent's Ornery Goblin (yours will die, his lives).
2) Play mountains to start the game with your Boros deck because you want to conceal your second color, then find out because your hand is mostly white cards, you don't have enough plains in play to double-spell.

A part of me wonders whether concealing the second color actually does anything. Does it?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:16 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 08, 2018
Posts: 334
Banedon wrote:
How to throw a game while making "good plays":

1) Have Ornery Goblin block opponent's Ornery Goblin (yours will die, his lives).
2) Play mountains to start the game with your Boros deck because you want to conceal your second color, then find out because your hand is mostly white cards, you don't have enough plains in play to double-spell.

A part of me wonders whether concealing the second color actually does anything. Does it?


1) is interesting, what's the rules explanation for the order? Why don't both abilities go on the stack to kill both goblins?

2) Well, that's on you :) I think concealing your colors is the last tiebreaker between two lands you can play. Enabling as many different plays as possible is more important - even factoring in cards you don't have yet. For example, in my Merfolk deck I have to make many land choices between Unclaimed Territory (can't provide blue for Negate or Blink of an Eye, doesn't enable the checkland), Woodland Stream, Hinterland Harbor and the basics. Concealing colors is only a factor if and when I don't have a one-drop. Then I usually play a basic - unless I have a dual-land that would still enter tapped.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:21 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr 24, 2017
Posts: 1220
Location: Cucho Lambreta#13992
1. I would have done the same and it’s interesting how the rule applied, I thought both should die.
2. Concealing info is relevant, casting your spells is more relevant:P

_________________
:planeswalker:


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2018 6:11 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 16, 2017
Posts: 166
Identity: Walker of Planes
Preferred Pronoun Set: Anything but Dave-O
Both at 15ish life. Opp has Trostani Discordant, the two 1/1s (now 2/2s) from it, and Sumala Woodshaper (now a 3/2) down. I've got Wojek Bodyguard and two 2/2s. Not looking great, no explicit removal for Trostani in the deck and it makes the long game much more favorable for him. No way he blocks with it while I have a squillion Boros mana available... right? I swing with the team, one of the 2/2s mentors up to 3/3. His blocks:

3/3 blocked by Trostani and a 2/2
Wojek blocked by Sumala
2/2 blocked by 2/2

Never fired off a Surer Strike than that one. 10/10, would Plague Wind for 2 CMC again.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 4:46 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov 09, 2013
Posts: 1624
Location: Wroclaw, Poland
My game of the week. Golgari grind vs Jeskai Control. I killed his Teferi and 2 Niv-Mizzet's, but couldn't get rid of the Ral until he had 2 cards in his deck left.

In the end he died to mill :-)


Attachments:
gameoftheday1.jpg
gameoftheday1.jpg [ 222.17 KiB | Viewed 1137 times ]
Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:18 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 02, 2013
Posts: 4090
Location: 1,824.5 meters underground.
Preferred Pronoun Set: Mr.
My game of the day yesterday was playing a Tocatli Honor Guard T2 against what obviously was a explore/surveil deck. They conceded as soon as it hit the board.

_________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt. - Mark Twain

Undercity Coliseum Tournament and NGA KOTH up now and streaming (sometimes)!!!! Make sure you subscribe.
https://www.youtube.com/user/thedevilwuster
My band Shakey Deal YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBpPU1fbAjSPTfu3g0vubLw
Shakey Deal Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/ShakeyDeal.Neil.Young.tribute/


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 3:26 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 944
Sol77_bla wrote:
1) is interesting, what's the rules explanation for the order? Why don't both abilities go on the stack to kill both goblins?


As I understand it, both abilities do go on the stack, but Ornery Goblin's text says "Ornery Goblin deals 1 damage to that creature". So if Ornery Goblin is dead, it can't do damage anymore - similar to how Rabid Bite is countered by Murder.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 3:35 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 28, 2015
Posts: 4842
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: uhhhhh
Banedon wrote:
Sol77_bla wrote:
1) is interesting, what's the rules explanation for the order? Why don't both abilities go on the stack to kill both goblins?


As I understand it, both abilities do go on the stack, but Ornery Goblin's text says "Ornery Goblin deals 1 damage to that creature". So if Ornery Goblin is dead, it can't do damage anymore - similar to how Rabid Bite is countered by Murder.


Yeah, it's probably similar to the rules change regarding Sakura-Tribe Elder. It used to be that damage went on the stack, so the elder could assign damage and then sacrifice itself in response, still pinging out a creature. That was broken as hell, as they changed it so damage doesn't do on the stack. If only the trigger went on the stack, then the damage wouldn't be dealt until the trigger resolved. And if the creature isn't there at the time, it wouldn't deal any damage.

_________________
KLD Season King of the Hill Winner.
EMN Season King of the Hill Winner.

The one true King of NGA Magic Duels on Xbox One.

You want some? Come get some. You don't like me? Bite me.

Day 1,000 of the never-ending Vert monarchy.

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=16077

Magic's a simple game, 2 people take turns playing cards and in the end Divinevert wins 2-0...


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:14 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 3352
My gut says the goblin situation is a bug tbh.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:43 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 28, 2015
Posts: 4842
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: uhhhhh
My gut says the goblin situation is a bug tbh.


Nah, the rule is the same for Prey Upon.

_________________
KLD Season King of the Hill Winner.
EMN Season King of the Hill Winner.

The one true King of NGA Magic Duels on Xbox One.

You want some? Come get some. You don't like me? Bite me.

Day 1,000 of the never-ending Vert monarchy.

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=16077

Magic's a simple game, 2 people take turns playing cards and in the end Divinevert wins 2-0...


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 7:12 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 29, 2015
Posts: 784
Location: Bend, OR
My gut says the goblin situation is a bug tbh.


Nope, look at the wording of the card: "Whenever Ornery Goblin blocks or becomes blocked by a creature, Ornery Goblin deals 1 damage to that creature." Once the first triggers, there second Ornery Goblin is no longer on the board to do damage.

If it said "Whenever Ornery Goblin blocks or becomes blocked by a creature, deal 1 damage to that creature." it would work regardless.

_________________
Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/wintervoidx
YouTube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZ4WOy ... BgwzjA-FsQ


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:22 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 08, 2018
Posts: 334
Ok I get that and it makes sense. I remember how Rabid Bite and bounce interact. Now why does the attacker live and not the defender? Not saying I expected the latter.

Is it that "blocks" is first in the text, which makes the defender's trigger go on the stack first so the attacker's trigger goes second and resolves first? Or is there a general rule for attacker and blocker triggers?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:19 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 28, 2015
Posts: 4842
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: uhhhhh
Sol77_bla wrote:
Ok I get that and it makes sense. I remember how Rabid Bite and bounce interact. Now why does the attacker live and not the defender? Not saying I expected the latter.

Is it that "blocks" is first in the text, which makes the defender's trigger go on the stack first so the attacker's trigger goes second and resolves first? Or is there a general rule for attacker and blocker triggers?

It's because the attacker gets to arrange the order that simultaneous triggers go on the stack, since they have priority.

Wait, hmmm.....wouldn't it be an APNAP situation? As in, shouldn't just the attacking Ornery Goblin die? Because the active player would have to put their trigger on first, then the non-active player, then as the stack resolves, the blocking Ornery Goblin would kill the attacking one, leaving just the non-active player's Ornery Goblin?

_________________
KLD Season King of the Hill Winner.
EMN Season King of the Hill Winner.

The one true King of NGA Magic Duels on Xbox One.

You want some? Come get some. You don't like me? Bite me.

Day 1,000 of the never-ending Vert monarchy.

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=16077

Magic's a simple game, 2 people take turns playing cards and in the end Divinevert wins 2-0...


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2018 12:51 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 3352
Wintervoid wrote:
My gut says the goblin situation is a bug tbh.


Nope, look at the wording of the card: "Whenever Ornery Goblin blocks or becomes blocked by a creature, Ornery Goblin deals 1 damage to that creature." Once the first triggers, there second Ornery Goblin is no longer on the board to do damage.

If it said "Whenever Ornery Goblin blocks or becomes blocked by a creature, deal 1 damage to that creature." it would work regardless.


https://www.mtgsalvation.com/forums/mag ... -responses
This seems to suggest that it would deal damage even if it dies.

I think the issue with targeted fight effects is that when the spell resolves it no longer sees the creature that should deal damage, so it can't note down the damage it would do.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2018 2:52 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2016
Posts: 944
At 5-2 in GRN draft after having started 0-2 ...

My board: Conclave Guildmage, 2 1/1 lifelinkers from Sworn Companion, 3 Plains, 1 Golgari Guildgate untapped, 1 Golgari Guildgate tapped
His board: two 2/2's, one vanilla and one an Erstwhile Trooper, both enhanced by Gird for Battle, and one creature under Luminous Bonds.

My hand is Status // Statue and Camaraderie. What to do ...

I pass the turn.
He attacks.
I put everything in front of the Erstwhile Trooper.
He discards a Kraul Harpooner to the Trooper. Oh my God, he's falling for it!!
I cast Statue on the Trooper. Easy 2-for-1.
Wait wtf I don't have the mana to cast it!?

I still had 10 life after the attack, but I rage conceded. Damn.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 103 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group