It is currently Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:31 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 10:22 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 3584
Location: somewhere btwn Achilles and the tortoise
Preferred Pronoun Set:
Ignoring the legend rule,

If the Planeswalker has less counters than it started with,

Does the copy enter the battlefield with the same number of counters as the original had when I copied it, or with the loyalty counter amount printed in the bottom right?

_________________
One eye open to see the truth of the world.




One eye closed to gaze at the goddess within.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 12:02 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 09, 2015
Posts: 1413
I'd assume the starting loyalty as that's what that particular PW enters with. Same way copying a creature with a -1/-1 counter on it won't make the copy enter with lowered P/T


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:50 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 11, 2015
Posts: 11
Quote:
306.5b A planeswalker is treated as if its text box included, “This permanent enters the battlefield
with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to its printed loyalty number.” This ability creates
a replacement effect (see rule 614.1c).

This doesn't change if the planeswalker is a copy.
Quote:
706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s
characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode,
targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The
“copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name,
mana cost, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, power, toughness, and/or
loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by its face-down status, and by “as . . . enters the
battlefield” and “as . . . is turned face up” abilities that set power and toughness (and may also set
additional characteristics). Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status,
and counters are not copied.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group