It is currently Mon May 21, 2018 2:17 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 9:19 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5553
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
On the three I got at least, there's no way any of the effects can harm you. Some just fizzle, but none harm you.

There are some options in the full list that could definitely be negative in the wrong situation:

  • Urza deals 3 damage to each creature. (oops, I killed my board)
  • Destroy target creature. You gain life equal to its toughness. (oops, my opponent has no creatures)
  • Create a 5/5 black Demon creature token with flying. You lose 2 life. (oops, I died)
  • Target player’s life total becomes 10. (oops, I have to either heal my opponent or hurt myself)
  • Destroy target nonland permanent. (oops, Urza killed himself)

On the bright side, those are all -1 abilities. The +1 and -6 abilities all seem pretty safe, unless you deck yourself from drawing too much. Even the -1 cases aren't too bad. You just might want to be careful about using the -1 while you're ahead.

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 9:22 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 07, 2015
Posts: 312
I don't think you'll have much luck with any question that requires actually thinking about the rules.

Targets are always chosen when the spell or ability is put on the stack, and the opponent can always respond with the knowledge of what the targets are. That's the whole point of targets. So if the intent is that you should choose the targets and then immediately do the effect, the abilities should just be untargeted.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 9:38 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2015
Posts: 44
Preferred Pronoun Set: she/her
adeyke wrote:
the abilities should just be untargeted.
It would be so much more intuitive that way. XD;


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:05 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 07, 2015
Posts: 312
As expected, MaRo's rulings don't make any sense. Apparently, if you have Rings of Brighthearth, you click the button twice. That eliminates the possibility that the randomness happens before or during the process of activating the ability.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 10:37 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2015
Posts: 44
Preferred Pronoun Set: she/her
To me that just looks like a correct application of the FAQ's ruling that the lookup happens on resolution.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:57 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 07, 2015
Posts: 312
Ah. I hadn't noticed that part of the FAQ. So yes, it is consistent. I was just holding out hope that it happens earlier in order for the targeting to work.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:22 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 02, 2013
Posts: 537
I first-picked this today, decided to pick mana fixing aggressively to be able to play it. Went 1-2 overall, but resolved this twice and won both games where that happened. Getting Domri Rade's emblem felt nice.

_________________
L1 judge


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group