It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 2:01 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:35 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 1777
Riddle of the Triskelion
Sorcery
For every nine permanents you control that do not share a name, choose one -
* Draw three cards.
* Create a 6/6 Construct artifact creature token.
* Riddle of the Triskelion deals 9 damage to any target.

_________________
Current Season of Chopped
List of Chopped Champions

Previous seasons of Chopped:


Last edited by YingLung on Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:41 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 9:20 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 2010
Is using '11' actually okay?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:32 am 
Online
Member
User avatar

Joined: May 18, 2015
Posts: 1761
Just to be clear: Acceptable uses of your number, Confused, are any two of the following:
  • :11: in the mana cost
  • :11: , “11”, or “eleven” in the rules text
  • 11 power
  • 11 toughness

@YingLung, please be sure to only have two instances of your number.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:38 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 1777
Welp. Edited.

_________________
Current Season of Chopped
List of Chopped Champions

Previous seasons of Chopped:


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 11:09 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 21, 2014
Posts: 2130
Location: Gimme all your money
Identity: and nobody gets hurt
does reminder text count

like can razorbro use the ascend mechanic and have it count as a ten?

_________________
beep beep mother trucker


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 1:09 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 2010
Herald of the Witching Hour - :11:
Creature - Eldrazi
Flying, Convoke
As ~ enters the battlefield, you may search your library for any number of Eldrazi creature cards with different names and exile them.
At the beginning of your upkeep, if you control exactly eleven other permanents, sacrifice them. Then, cast all Eldrazi creature cards you own from exile that were exiled by a card named ~ without paying their mana cost.
Insanity shall reign with the strike of the midnight bell.
3/7


Last edited by Confused on Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:08 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:12 pm 
Offline
YMtC Pro Tour Champion
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 7218
Chattering Uprising
Sorcery (U)
Create five 1/1 green squirrel creature tokens. If you control five squirrel creatures, create 10 1/1 green squirrel creature tokens instead.
He tried to sleep, but as the fire died down, all he could hear was that mindless crescendo of clacking teeth.

_________________
SithasLore, White, Blue, Black, Red, Green, Multicolored, Artifacts, Lands
Sithas: Rising StormsLore, White, Blue, Black, Red, Green, Multi, Artifacts and Land
Ephemeron


Last edited by Dudibus on Mon Nov 26, 2018 12:34 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:22 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 13042
Identity: Chaoslight
Preferred Pronoun Set: She
Dudibus wrote:
Ouphe Tyrant
Creature ─ Ouphe (R)
Trample
Whenever a player activates an artifact's ability, put a +1/+1 counter on Ouphe Tyrant.
Activated abilities of artifacts must be activated each turn if able.
3/3
"Things get glitchy around 'em and they feed on the power cables. Until its time to feed on something else." ─ Ol' Charlie, carvan wrangler.


You're 5, I'm 3

_________________
altimis wrote:
I never take anytihng Lily says seriously, except for when I take it personally. Then it's personal.
WotC_Ethan wrote:
People, buy more stuff.
#WotCstaff
Spoiler

Image


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:40 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 21, 2014
Posts: 2130
Location: Gimme all your money
Identity: and nobody gets hurt
Swift Retribution
Instant (R)
Create a 4/4 white Angel creature token with flying. It fights target creature that dealt damage to you this turn.
"The righteous cannot stand aside when injustice occurs before their very eyes." - Aurelia

Note that this needs a target to be cast.

Also I assume that a 4/4 token satisfies both 4's.

Four.

_________________
beep beep mother trucker


Last edited by Silly on Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:07 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2892
Herald of the Infinite |
Creature - Eldrazi | {MR}
Trample, Indestructible
: Herald of the Infinite's power and toughness becomes any number you choose. It can't deal damage this turn, and spells and abilities will count its power and toughness this turn as 0 instead. Use this ability only while Herald of the Infinite is tapped.
8/8

Let's go crazy.

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:08 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 13042
Identity: Chaoslight
Preferred Pronoun Set: She
Holy Trinity
Creature - Angel Incarnation
Flying, Lifelink, Vigilance
~ enters the battlefield with 3 +1/+1 counters on it
Remove a +1/+1 counter from ~: You can't lose the game this turn and your opponents can't win the game this turn. Until end of turn, damage that would reduce your life total to less than 1 reduces it to 1 instead.
0/0

_________________
altimis wrote:
I never take anytihng Lily says seriously, except for when I take it personally. Then it's personal.
WotC_Ethan wrote:
People, buy more stuff.
#WotCstaff
Spoiler

Image


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:08 pm 
Offline
YMtC Pro Tour Champion
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 7218
LilyStorm wrote:
Dudibus wrote:
Ouphe Tyrant
Creature ─ Ouphe (R)
Trample
Whenever a player activates an artifact's ability, put a +1/+1 counter on Ouphe Tyrant.
Activated abilities of artifacts must be activated each turn if able.
3/3
"Things get glitchy around 'em and they feed on the power cables. Until its time to feed on something else." ─ Ol' Charlie, carvan wrangler.


You're 5, I'm 3


I used 5 for the mana cost and 1 with the +1/+1 counters. Did I misunderstand? Ohh...does it have to be ?

_________________
SithasLore, White, Blue, Black, Red, Green, Multicolored, Artifacts, Lands
Sithas: Rising StormsLore, White, Blue, Black, Red, Green, Multi, Artifacts and Land
Ephemeron


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:11 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Feb 21, 2014
Posts: 2130
Location: Gimme all your money
Identity: and nobody gets hurt
Dudibus wrote:
LilyStorm wrote:
Dudibus wrote:
Ouphe Tyrant
Creature ─ Ouphe (R)
Trample
Whenever a player activates an artifact's ability, put a +1/+1 counter on Ouphe Tyrant.
Activated abilities of artifacts must be activated each turn if able.
3/3
"Things get glitchy around 'em and they feed on the power cables. Until its time to feed on something else." ─ Ol' Charlie, carvan wrangler.


You're 5, I'm 3


I used 5 for the mana cost and 1 with the +1/+1 counters. Did I misunderstand? Ohh...does it have to be ?

your number is five

you need to make a card with two fives in it

currently your card has zero fives in it

it does have three threes and two ones though

_________________
beep beep mother trucker


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 8:30 pm 
Online
Member
User avatar

Joined: May 18, 2015
Posts: 1761
Didn't expect this much confusion, but I'm happy to answer questions as they come:

  • If you choose mana cost as one of your two representations, your number has to be represented in its full form within the mana cost of the card. It can't simply be the converted mana cost.
  • Reminder text does count, so ascend would contribute to razorborne's use of "ten."
  • Dudibus, your number is 5.
  • Silly, the two 4s that are the power and toughness of the token do count as your two instances of 4. Good job.

LMK if you have any additional questions!


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:57 am 
Offline
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sep 27, 2013
Posts: 412
Preferred Pronoun Set: she/her/hers
Sinister Dogma -
Enchantment
When Sinister Dogma enters the battlefield, draw two cards.
You can't cast more than two spells each turn.
The most dangerous books are those that claim to obviate the need for any others.

_________________
From nothing came posts.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:49 pm 
Offline
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Mar 14, 2015
Posts: 1838
Jo, when does this round end?

Necroscopic Visions
Enchantment (M)
Pay 1 life: Exile top card of your library face down. You may look at that card for as long as it remains exiled.
At the beginning of your end step, choose a card exiled with Necroscopic Visions and put it into your hand.
Omniscience, no matter the cost.

_________________
Congrats to Libe, Champion of Pro Tour: You Make the Card!

Q's Links
Pro Tour YMTC 5 Archive


Last edited by Q is 564453 on Sun Nov 25, 2018 1:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:08 pm 
Offline
YMtC Champ '11
YMtC Pro Tour Champion
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 9156
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/my/mine/himself
BelangiaJo wrote:
You have until 6PM PST on 11/27 to finish this round. Best of luck!

_________________
In the custody of febb since 12.05.16
[Warchief] Custom EDH Project

you're like the kind of person who would cast Necropotence irl


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 6:22 am 
Offline
YMtC Champ '14
YMTC Pro Tour Champion
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04, 2014
Posts: 12658
Location: Freedom
Preferred Pronoun Set: they
well, 10's a big number, so let's go big.

Gulmrek, The Living Mountain
Legendary Land-Mountain
Gulmrek enters the battlefield tapped.
Whenever a sorcery spell you control deals damage to one or more creatures, put an eruption counter on Gulmrek.
, remove three eruption counters from Gulmrek: Gulmrek becomes a 10/10 Elemental creature in addition to its other types. (This effect doesn't end at end of turn.)
Once every century or so, some new tribe decides to settle around her base. Once every century or so, she feeds.

I went with sorceries only 'cause I kinda like the occasional scrivener/anarchist mechanical split that red and blue have going. (see also: cognivore/magnivore.) I think it's cute, so I thought I'd let Gulmrek play into it a bit.

:duel:

_________________
I tend to agree with Razor.

Pro Tour: YMTC: SECOND ONE IS OVER STAY TUNED FOR THIRD ONE
The BLOCK I'm currently pretending I'll finish: Fleets Of Ossia (complete!) | Wavebreak (complete!) | The Second Flood (in progress!)
Razorborne and friends teach music theory to chumps like you: 12tone


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:02 pm 
Offline
YMtC Champ '11
YMtC Pro Tour Champion
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 9156
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/my/mine/himself
BelangiaJo wrote:
it's too powerful as it is.

I think you're overrating it, or perhaps underrating the current rate of cards. The last premiere control beatstick was Torrential Gearhulk, a well-sized instant speed beater that had flexibility, card advantage and tempo attached to it. You could compare it to Thing in the Ice if you wanted to, but they're kind of opposites, since Thing in the Ice is an early game speedbump that can work as a late-game threat, while Ice-Bound Colossus is a slow card-advantage engine that turns into a threat. Playing 4-drop with no board-impact as a deck that typically capitalizes on stranding your opponent's removal is a pretty risky plan that probably shines primarily out of the sideboard.

Explosive Imagination
Instant
Exile the top six cards of your library. You may cast any number of them with a combined converted mana cost of 6 or less without paying their mana costs.
Red mages excel at being unpredictably predictable.

_________________
In the custody of febb since 12.05.16
[Warchief] Custom EDH Project

you're like the kind of person who would cast Necropotence irl


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 12:45 am 
Online
Member
User avatar

Joined: May 18, 2015
Posts: 1761
Just messaged Malikot a quick reminder. Everyone still has until 6PM PST tomorrow to make edits. :)


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BelangiaJo and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group