It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 7:29 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:32 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 05, 2014
Posts: 975
Location: Berk
Identity: Dragon
If I have Breath of Fury and Assault Suit attached to the same creature (say an Invisible Stalker), can I get an additional combat phase and reattach Breath of Fury to the same creature each time I hit an opponent?

The way I'm hoping it works is that where Breath of Fury says "Sacrifice [the enchanted creature] and attach Breath of Fury to a creature you control" the Assault Suit prevents the sacrifice, but Breath of Fury still attempts to do as much as it can, meaning it attaches to a creature (in this case the same creature) thereby hopefully satisfying the "If you do" clause? (Is that an "intervening If"?).

I think/hope it works because the sacrifice and attach commands are both listed before the "if", but I don't know for sure.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:00 pm 
Offline
YMtC Champ '14
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04, 2014
Posts: 12127
Location: Freedom
Preferred Pronoun Set: they
I don't think so? I think the "if" requires that you do everything listed before it, and you skipped one of the steps. the Breath will reattach (which can be to the same creature if you'd like) but then it checks if you sacrificed the thing and it reattached, and that's not the case.

:duel:

_________________
I tend to agree with Razor.

Pro Tour: YMTC: SECOND ONE IS OVER STAY TUNED FOR THIRD ONE
The BLOCK I'm currently pretending I'll finish: Fleets Of Ossia (complete!) | Wavebreak (complete!) | The Second Flood (in progress!)
Razorborne and friends teach music theory to chumps like you: 12tone


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:32 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 04, 2015
Posts: 4649
Location: Alchemist's Refuge
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
Comp Rules wrote:
117.12. Some spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities read, “{Do something}. If {a player}
{does, doesn’t, or can’t}, {effect}.” or “{A player} may {do something}. If {that player} {does,
doesn’t, or can’t}, {effect}.” The action {do something} is a cost, paid when the spell or ability
resolves. The “If {a player} {does, doesn’t, or can’t}” clause checks whether the player chose to pay
an optional cost or started to pay a mandatory cost, regardless of what events actually occurred.
Example: You control Standstill, an enchantment that says “When a player casts a spell,
sacrifice Standstill. If you do, each of that player’s opponents draws three cards.” A spell is
cast, causing Standstill’s ability to trigger. Then an ability is activated that exiles Standstill.
When Standstill’s ability resolves, you’re unable to pay the “sacrifice Standstill” cost. No
player will draw cards.


Breath of Fury will not grant an additional combat phase. I included the first example because it's similar enough to the scenario described with Assault Suit.

Specifically, according to the above rule, Breath of Fury has you paying two costs, "sacrifice {enchanted creature}" and "attach Breath of Fury to a creature you control." Both costs must be paid to get the effect after the "If you do" clause. Assault Suit prevents you from paying the "sacrifice {enchanted creature}" cost.

_________________
Former Rules Advisor (RA program ended 5-3-16)

Up High, Down Low, Whoops, Too Slow.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:07 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 05, 2014
Posts: 975
Location: Berk
Identity: Dragon
Ah. Thank you very much for that detailed explanation and rules reference. I see where my thinking went astray now.
The "does as much as it can" ruling is in reference to resolving effects and abilities, not paying costs, and I wasn't thinking of of the sacrifice as part of the cost for the ability to trigger.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 07, 2015
Posts: 256
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
Flyheight wrote:
Ah. Thank you very much for that detailed explanation and rules reference. I see where my thinking went astray now.
The "does as much as it can" ruling is in reference to resolving effects and abilities, not paying costs, and I wasn't thinking of of the sacrifice as part of the cost for the ability to trigger.


You're viewing costs and effects as mutually exclusive, which they aren't. The sacrifice and attach are both an effect (since it's the result of a resolving ability, which means you must do as much as possible) and a cost (which means the rest of the ability only happens if you paid the cost).

And the term "cost for the ability to trigger" is very wrong. The Breath's ability will automatically trigger when the enchanted creature deals combat damage to a player and will then always go on the stack. It's only when the ability resolves that the cost is paid.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group