It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:05 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:29 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 10, 2015
Posts: 2339
Location: California
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
BTW, did anybody notice that this planeswalker is a head without a body

_________________
Is it just me, or does Bruse Tarl look like an 1890s Barnum circus strongman who'd hawk strength tonic patent medicines on the side?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:53 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 13, 2015
Posts: 1890
Urza was decapitated. There was a period between then and his death.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:07 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 09, 2015
Posts: 968
Of course he is, he's the headmaster not the full-bodied master


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:00 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 9644
BTW, did anybody notice that this planeswalker is a head without a body

He's been in unsets before, and proof of his past deeds are in the background

_________________
At twilight's end, the shadow's crossed / a new world birthed, the elder lost.
Yet on the morn we wake to find / that mem'ry left so far behind.
To deafened ears we ask, unseen / "Which is life and which the dream?"


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:24 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 10030
Location: Kamloops, BC
Identity: Male
Of course he is, he's the headmaster not the full-bodied master

Duh. Do some people even read the card titles? If I were to be called "headmaster" I would fully expect to be decapitated.

_________________
Cato wrote:
CotW is a method for ranking cards in increasing order of printability.

TPrizesW
TPortfolioW


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:45 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2015
Posts: 44
Preferred Pronoun Set: she/her
Barinellos wrote:
BTW, did anybody notice that this planeswalker is a head without a body

He's been in unsets before, and proof of his past deeds are in the background.


I did not notice that. That's great. XD The Un- plot deepens.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:45 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 6438
Urza's abilities will change over time.

Quote:
mandramas asked:
Do you plans to update Urza Headmaster abilities after the release? Do you plan to publish a table with all the abilities to play offline (probably you will need a d20)?

markrosewater said:
The plan is to change it from time to time. We will have an offline version for people to print up if they won’t have access to online.

_________________
magicpablo666 wrote:
You fell victim to one of the classic blunders - The most famous of which is "never get involved in an thread with GM_Champion" - but only slightly less well-known is this: "Never go in against AzureShade when card design is on the line!"


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:54 am 
Offline
YMtC Champ '11
YMtC Pro Tour Champion
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 8858
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/my/mine/himself
If a d20 is sufficient I'll be disappointed.
Barring multiple rolls.

_________________
In the custody of febb since 12.05.16
[Warchief] Custom EDH Project

you're like the kind of person who would cast Necropotence irl


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 12:57 pm 
Online
Member

Joined: Sep 24, 2013
Posts: 4756
I think there will only be six abilities for each loyalty cost


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:33 pm 
Online
Member

Joined: Sep 24, 2013
Posts: 4756
Askurza.com is now live

It looks like all his abilities are just taken from the loyalty abilities of other planeswalkers

This also explains what they meant when they said they planned to change urza in the future. They'll add in the loyalty abilities of most new planeswalkers when they come out


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:46 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 07, 2015
Posts: 312
Also, they're including targeted abilities. Which just can't work.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:12 pm 
Online
Member

Joined: Sep 24, 2013
Posts: 4756
Maro said if there are no legal targets you just reactivate


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:38 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 07, 2015
Posts: 312
The issue is that targets are chosen on activation, while it looks like the effect (going to the site, clicking the button, and following the instructions) happens on resolution. In order for targeted effects to work, however, you'd need to go the site and click the button at the start of activation. However, that opens the possibility of either a player being forced to target something they don't want to or the player being able to reroll an effect by reversing the activation.

Randomness should either happen before the player even starts casting/activating something or during resolution, not in the process of casting/activating it.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:57 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2015
Posts: 44
Preferred Pronoun Set: she/her
My working theory is that it's similar to Jhoira of the Ghitu Avatar: On resolution, copy a random activated ability from the corresponding list, then activate the copy without paying its activation cost (since it doesn't have one). If you can't, repeat this process until you can.

(I could've sworn there was a MaRo post a couple of weeks ago where someone asked how targets are chosen, and MaRo replied not to worry, that all the possible effects have been worded so that you make their choices on resolution. Maybe that was just a vivid dream. :-P )


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:31 pm 
Online
Member

Joined: Sep 24, 2013
Posts: 4756
I guess we should rule that people can't respond to an urza a activation before seeing what ability is being used, but they can respond after?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:52 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 28, 2016
Posts: 1844
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
So, today is december 8.
His abilities are a salad of other planeswalkers' abilities.
They are pretty freaking strong ! He gets Fact or Fiction, Mind Control and 4/4 Flying dragon for just -1 !

_________________
nice quotes from this forum


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:32 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 10, 2015
Posts: 2339
Location: California
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
I got:

+1: Until your next turn,creatures you control get +1/+0 and gain lifelink. (Also the +1 of Sorin, Solemn Visitor)
-1: Target player sacrifices two creatures. (Dead Drop or Ends of Odds/Ends)
-6: Create a 6/6 green Wurm creature token for each land you control. (Also the ultimate of Garruk, Primal Hunter)

_________________
Is it just me, or does Bruse Tarl look like an 1890s Barnum circus strongman who'd hawk strength tonic patent medicines on the side?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:53 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 12, 2015
Posts: 532
adeyke wrote:
Randomness should either happen before the player even starts casting/activating something or during resolution, not in the process of casting/activating it.
This is how I've been interpreting it: the abilities are effectively proceeded by "If you want to see what this does...", so you go, see the result and decide if it is legal to activate or not.

Yes, that has the problem of people feeling free to spam the generator until they get the effect they want, but we'd have that problem anyway, and anybody who min/max's Un-cards like that shouldn't really be playing them in any case.

_________________


"Ability words are flavor text for Melvins."

"Remember, dear friends: when we announce something and you imagine it, the odds that we made exactly that thing are zero."---Kelly Digges


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:16 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2015
Posts: 44
Preferred Pronoun Set: she/her
Oh. I finally figured out where I saw that ruling, and it wasn't a dream. It was the FAQ.

Can players respond after they see what's going to happen?

Nope. It's all part of the effect. Urza is very unpredictable.

Since it's part of the effect, you can definitely respond before, but not after. My Jhoira of the Ghitu Avatar-style interpretation, where a second activated ability is put on the stack for a while, is wrong.

New theory: It's as though the ability reads ": Head to AskUrza.com and click . Append the ability text that appears to the end of this ability on the stack, and select this ability's targets. If you can't, repeat this process." Selecting targets using this effect would be similar to black-bordered effects that have you "reselect" or "change" targets, meaning it doesn't impose any new costs on the ability, and hexproof and protection still affect these targeting choices.

---

Well, I just embarrassed myself by sending MaRo a multi-part question right before I found that FAQ entry:

Hi Mark, I've got three questions about Urza, Academy Headmaster. // 1. Do players get priority in between paying the loyalty cost and heading to AskUrza (e.g. to resolve Rings of Brighthearth's trigger)? /// 2. Do players get priority after heading to AskUrza (e.g. to play Healing Salve)? // 3. If players get priority both times, then what kind of object is on the stack the second time (e.g. for Strionic Resonator), and did you ever "activate" it (e.g. to trigger Rings of Brighthearth)?

(A few minutes later...)

I just sent you a question about Urza, Academy Headmaster, but I found what I needed to know in the FAQAWASLFAQPAFTIDAWABIAJTBT. "Can players respond after they see what's going to happen?" "Nope. It's all part of the effect." Thanks! :)

---

There's one more comparison I'd like to make in the spirit of "precedent," although I don't think this is a precedent for any pre-Sixth Edition rules, let alone post-Sixth Edition rules, let alone silver-bordered rules. :P It's more like the precedent would go in the other direction, if anything.

What I'm talking about is this pair of Shandalar Astral cards:

Faerie Dragon

Summon Dragon
: Play a random effect.
1/3

Whimsy

Sorcery
Play X random fast effects.

That's all. Just wanted to compare 'em. :P

---

astarael7 wrote:
you go, see the result and decide if it is legal to activate or not.
If there are no legal targets, you spin again. That ruling's from @maro254 on Twitter:

As many people are asking, if you activate Urza and you get an effect with no legal target, you get to reactivate. Urza does what he does but he’s not heartless. : ) #WotCStaff


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 9:02 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 10, 2015
Posts: 2339
Location: California
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
On the three I got at least, there's no way any of the effects can harm you. Some just fizzle, but none harm you.

_________________
Is it just me, or does Bruse Tarl look like an 1890s Barnum circus strongman who'd hawk strength tonic patent medicines on the side?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group