It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:48 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: [C17 - ICD] Portal Mage
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:38 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 6089
Image

Funny story: Out of the twenty-ish cards that reference the declare attackers step....almost all of them are from a Portal expansion.

_________________
magicpablo666 wrote:
You fell victim to one of the classic blunders - The most famous of which is "never get involved in an thread with GM_Champion" - but only slightly less well-known is this: "Never go in against AzureShade when card design is on the line!"


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:44 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 8528
She appears to be from Vryn, which is kind of cool

_________________
"Enjoy your screams, Sarpadia - they will soon be muffled beneath snow and ice."

The Coalition/Phyrexian War Game Rises Again


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 7:14 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 04, 2015
Posts: 4078
Location: Alchemist's Refuge
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
I love this card. I want to find an awesome combo with it.

As such I'll be avoiding this thread so I won't be spoiled by anybody else who has already found a combo. :incognito: I mean, there's that one combo that's already in the deck, but I mean with other, older cards.

_________________
Former Rules Advisor (RA program ended 5-3-16)

Up High, Down Low, Whoops, Too Slow.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:22 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 02, 2013
Posts: 503
Can this be used to bypass Blazing Archon? Feels like it does, but I believe this effect hadn't been done before, so the current CR may not have an answer for me. Do Commander sets come with release notes?

_________________
L1 judge


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:33 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 2852
I have to think this falls under the umbrella of stuff like if Alesha, Who Smiles at Death brings a black creature onto the battlefield tapped and attacking that can still hit someone with Elephant Grass up.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 4:46 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 02, 2013
Posts: 503
Yeah, I was too busy looking for a non-global variation of the effect (as opposed to Moat or Ensnaring Bridge) to remember that creatures can already enter the battlefield attacking. Go go tunnel vision

_________________
L1 judge


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 5:57 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5083
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
To answer your other question, yes there are release notes for this set. Here: http://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/ar ... 2017-08-11

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:20 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 2852
I've started a small rules commotion at salvation, over the (seemingly presently ambiguous) working of a redirected Master of Cruelties (which never refers to a defending player like most other unblocked triggers do - it only refers to 'that player' referencing the attacked player).


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:01 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 10, 2015
Posts: 1736
Location: California
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
Feels white, not blue

_________________
Is it just me, or does Bruse Tarl look like an 1890s Barnum circus strongman who'd hawk strength tonic patent medicines on the side?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:09 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 27, 2013
Posts: 2737
Feels white, not blue

I'm OK with blue changing attacks after the fact. Before the fact would be R/W a la Master Warcraft probably


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:14 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 01, 2015
Posts: 225
Feels white, not blue

It seems to be the same effect as Illusionist's Gambit


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group