It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:32 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:04 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 02, 2014
Posts: 2
[Q12] For the Monk build, it says that you can get a bonus unarmed attack when attacking with weapons that do not have the two-handed property and are monk weapons. The quarterstaff is a monk weapon and does not have the 2-handed property but has versatile instead. Can you use the 1d8 damage for this or 1d6?

[Q13] As a follow up, when attacking with the monk's bonus attack, do you get the DEX modifier to damage? for instance 1d4+4 at level one for damage?

Thank you!!~


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:33 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 30, 2013
Posts: 7305
Location: England
[A12] As of RAW you could indeed opt to use the versatile trait to deal 1d8 damage with your quaterstaff and still make an additional unarmed strike. The Versatile trait allows you make an attack with both hands but does not give the weapon the 'Two-Handed' trait.

[A13] See [A9]. But yes you do gain the Dex bonus to damage. Two-Weapon Fighting appears to be a specific case where you lose the bonus rather then a general rule.

Quick edit because I am an idiot.

_________________
Welcome! I'm Garren and I'll be your designated villain for the evening.


Last edited by Garren_Windspear on Sat Oct 04, 2014 4:03 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 3:26 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 10342
Preferred Pronoun Set: BH/B.H./Bounty Hunter
Garren meant Answers not Questions.

Okay, people keep flopping around on this one so it would be nice to iron out what is actually correct.

Abilities like the Bard's 'Jack of All Trades' do effect your initiative value because it is a Dexterity Skill Check. Being proficient in Dexterity Saves does not give you +PROF to initiative rolls because "Dex Save" =/= "Dex Check". Correct?

Basically:

[Q14] Does being proficient in DEX Saves give you a bonus to Initiative rolls? Yes or No.

_________________
"Life is like a Dungeon Master, if it smiles at you something terrible is probably about to happen."

Play-By-Post Games
Phandelver : IC / OC / Map


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 4:12 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 30, 2013
Posts: 7305
Location: England
[A14] No it does not. An attribute check (which an Initiative check is) is not the same as a Saving Throw. Proficiency with one does not grant proficiency with the other.

_________________
Welcome! I'm Garren and I'll be your designated villain for the evening.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:24 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 05, 2014
Posts: 1
[Q15]
How long is a creature surprised for? Does this last until the end of the surprise round? Until the first time they get to act (i.e. at their initiative in the second (non-surprise) round? Until the top of the second (i.e. non-surprise) round?

[Q16]
Are we allowed to retrain feats? Can you give up a feat at a later level and opt for a new feat, or for the ability score improvement?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:39 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 30, 2013
Posts: 7305
Location: England
[A15] A creature is effectively surprised until the start of it's second turn as it can not take any actions until that point.

PHB p189 wrote:
If you’re surprised, you can’t move or take an action on your first turn of the combat, and you can’t take a reaction until that turn ends.


[A16] Under RAW no you can not retrain feats.

_________________
Welcome! I'm Garren and I'll be your designated villain for the evening.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 3:05 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Jan 12, 2014
Posts: 84
[Q17] Does the fighter's Dueling fighting style work if you're using a shield?

Page 72 wrote:
When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that weapon


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 3:14 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 10342
Preferred Pronoun Set: BH/B.H./Bounty Hunter
[A17] Yes. A Fighter with Dueling can use a one-handed weapon with a shield, spellcasting focus, or an empty offhand.

Jeremy Crawford answered this on Twitter. I'll edit in the link when I find it.

_________________
"Life is like a Dungeon Master, if it smiles at you something terrible is probably about to happen."

Play-By-Post Games
Phandelver : IC / OC / Map


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 2:00 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 30, 2013
Posts: 7305
Location: England
[Q18]
PHB p192 - Ready wrote:
When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs.

What happens if the trigger doesn't occur? Do you lose the spell entirely?

_________________
Welcome! I'm Garren and I'll be your designated villain for the evening.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:15 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 10342
Preferred Pronoun Set: BH/B.H./Bounty Hunter
[Q19] : Is the arcane focus 'Staff' also a 'Quaterstaff' ? Does it have the same combat uses as a quaterstaff or would I have to swap from my arcane focus to a normal weapon / hold weapon in one hand and focus in the offhand?

_________________
"Life is like a Dungeon Master, if it smiles at you something terrible is probably about to happen."

Play-By-Post Games
Phandelver : IC / OC / Map


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2015 4:45 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 17, 2015
Posts: 1
Q20 does a spell casters familiar radiate a magic aura... for the purpose of being seen through detect magic


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:44 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 3541
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Identity: Spider-Man
Preferred Pronoun Set: Wtf is a "Jabber address"?
[A2. Additional]

Not to dispute BH's answer (because BH is technically correct), but... :teach: Flanking is presented as an optional rule in the Dungeon Master's Guide. Use it if your DM says it is okay.

DMG p251 wrote:
If you regularly use miniatures, flanking gives combatants a simple way to gain advantage on attack rolls against a common enemy.
A creature can't flank an enemy that it can't see. A creature also can't flank while it is incapacitated. A Large or larger creature is flanking as long as at least one square or hex of its space qualifies for flanking.

The book goes on to further explain in detailed paragraphs how to use flanking if you are using squares or if you are uses hexes, with pictured diagrams for each.

_________________
ImageImage
The Clone Saga: A Spider-Man Mafia 3


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group