It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 7:31 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:32 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2269
Welcome to Yarium's Ixalan Prerelease Rules Quiz!

I try to host one of these each set, and boy, does Ixalan have some weirdness in it! This Rules Quiz is meant to help you in case you run into some weird situations that could occur during the prerelease. Write down your answers, and in about 24hrs I will post up the answers (I have been known to be wrong from time to time as well, but if that happens, know that I will be called out VERY quickly!), and you can see how you did! If you're reading this after the answers have been posted, please go ahead and put up your answers, then check, and let us know where you went wrong! The most helpful way to learn some of the oddities of Magic is by experiencing it, and I hope to give you a leg up for when you do. Without further adieu, let's move onto the Quiz!

Question #1:
Imperial Lancer and Frenzied Raptor are attacking across an empty field, but then Bloodcrazed Paladin is cast (no creatures have yet died this turn), blocks Frenzied Raptor, and then that player casts Vampire's Zeal targeting the Paladin. Assuming nothing else happens, choose the answer that best describes what the result of this combat will be:
a) Bloodcrazed Paladin deals 3 damage to Frenzied Raptor, which dies, and Imperial Lancer deals 1 damage to the defending player.
b) Bloodcrazed Paladin deals 3 damage to Frenzied Raptor, which dies, and Imperial Lancer deals 2 damage to the defending player.
c) Bloodcrazed Paladin deals 3 damage to Frenzied Raptor, which dies, a +1/+1 counter is put on Bloodcrazed Paladin, and Imperial Lancer deals 1 damage to the defending player.
d) Bloodcrazed Paladin deals 3 damage to Frenzied Raptor, which dies, a +1/+1 counter is put on Bloodcrazed Paladin, and Imperial Lancer deals 2 damage to the defending player.

Question #2:
Your opponent is at 1 life, with no creatures out. You have Pirate's Prize and Depths of Desire in hand, 2 Mountains, 2 Islands, and Makeshift Munitions on the battlefield. You've already used your land drops, so nothing you draw can help you. How can you win this turn?
a) Cast Pirate's Prize. Then sacrifice a Treasure token to Makeshift Munitions, using the mana from the Treasure to power it, and deal 1 damage to your opponent.
b) Cast Depths of Desire with no targets. Then tap a land to generate an additional mana and sacrifice the Treasure token to Makeshift Munitions, and deal 1 damage to your opponent.
c) Say "Well, I think I got you. Concede?." and offer your hand for your opponent to concede. Hope they fall for it.
d) It is not possible to win this turn.

Question #3:
You have 6 cards left in your library and are attacking with 3 creatures. Your opponent casts Settle the Wreckage. After it resolves, you search your library, and to your shock and horror, half your remaining cards in your library are basic lands. You still have Vona, Butcher of Magan, lots of life, and your opponent only has a few creatures left, so you think think you can win before you would die from drawing a card from an empty library, but only if the game goes on for 5 more turns. You tell your opponent that you're not finding any basic lands to put onto the battlefield, leaving you with enough cards to survive and win the game. Was this legal?
a) Yes.
b) No.

Question #4:
You have a Fell Flagship, Dire Fleet Captain, Daring Saboteur, and Vanquisher's Banner set to "Pirate". Choose each option that is true.
a) You may tap Daring Saboteur to crew the Fell Flagship.
b) You may tap Dire Fleet Captain to crew the Fell Flagship, then cast Rallying Roar to attack with both the Dire Fleet Captain and the Fell Flagship.
c) You may tap Daring Saboteur to crew the Fell Flagship, then activate Daring Saboteur's ability.
d) Once crewed by a Pirate, Fell Flagship benefits both from its own ability, and Vanquisher's Banner.
e) Once crewed by Dire Fleet Captain, Fell Flagship benefits from the Captain's triggered ability when it attacks alongside Daring Saboteur.
f) If Dire Fleet Captain crewed Fell Flagship and it attacks, but Dire Fleet Captain is destroyed by Bright Reprisal, Fell Flagship continues attacking.

Question #5:
During a Two-Headed Giant game. You have an Island which is a creature with three +1/+1 counters on it due to Waker of the Wild's activated ability. Your teammate has a Bonded Horncrest. One opponent has a Vraska, Relic Seeker with 5 loyalty counters, and the other has Trove of Temptation and a Burning Sun's Avatar. Which of the following are legal attacks? Choose all that apply.
a) Bonded Horncrest attacks Vraska. The Island attacks the player with Vraska.
b) Bonded Horncrest and the Island attack the player with Vraska.
c) Bonded Horncrest and the Island attack Vraska.
d) Bonded Horncrest doesn't attack. The Island attacks Vraska.
e) No creatures attack.

Question #6:
You have a Vance's Blasting Cannons, three Swamps,three Mountains, and a Charging Monstrosaur on the battlefield. In hand you have a Dual Shot, Grim Captain's Call, and Fathom Fleet Firebrand in your hand. There's nothing in your graveyard. Can you transform Vance's Blasting Cannons this turn? Explain your answer.

Question #7:
Tilonalli's Skinshifter attacks alongside Conqueror's Galleon (crewed by Ruthless Knave). Will you be able to sacrifice the Skinshifter to Ruthless Knave's ability during your second main phase?

Question #8:
How much life is lost by the end of the turn if, during a 2 Headed Giant game, you had Raiders' Wake, attacked with Vicious Conquistador, then cast Dire Fleet Ravager, while your team was at 6 life, and your opponent was at 20 life, and your opponents each had 1 card in hand?

Question #9:
Is this real and official wording from the Ixalan Release Notes? "If the second ability of Revel in Riches causes you to win the game, please refrain from throwing your Treasure tokens into the air as this may distract or injure other players."

Question #10:
In which of the following situations is casting Dire Fleet Ravager an automatic win? (EDIT: I thought players shared life total in Emperor, so just pretend it's like Emperor, but with shared life total like 2 Headed Giant)
(a) You are playing 2 Headed Giant. Your team is at 2 life, and your opponent's team is at 1 life.
(b) You are playing Emperor, and you're the Emperor. Your team is at 30 life, and your opponent's team is at 20 life.
(c) You are playing Emperor, and you're one of the Generals. Your team is at 3 life, and your opponent's team is at 2 life.
(d) You are playing a regular match, you are eat at 1 life, and your opponent has Rampaging Ferocidon.

BONUS:
If you have and are able to cast and/or activate each card in Ixalan that cares about treasure (and you only are able to cast and/or activate each card ONCE, and they only transform if the situation from doing thisallows it to transform), how many Treasure Tokens will you end the turn with, assuming you're trying to maximize treasure token production (not trying to win the game)? Assume you get a whole turn, (you don't draw anything you can use), you start with each of these cards in hand and 20 life. Your opponent has 20 life, but only enough of any other permanent on the battlefield for any one of these cards to be cast once (they have as much land as they need), and it can be any card in the set (ex; if two cards target a creature, the opponent only has 1 creature).

(IE, the cards are: Depths of Desire, Pirate's Prize, Prosperous Pirates, Sailor of Means, Spell Swindle, Contract Killing, Dire Fleet Hoarder, Heartless Pillage, Revel in Riches, Ruthless Knave, Wanted Scoundrels, Captain Lannery Storm, Trove of Temptation, Wily Goblin, Deadeye Plunderers, Vraska, Relic Seeker, Prying Blade)

ANSWERS

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Last edited by Yarium on Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:38 am, edited 5 times in total.

Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:15 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5316
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
I love these! Thanks for making another one.

Spoiler


Edit:
Spoiler

_________________
0x10


Last edited by CommanderJim on Thu Sep 21, 2017 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:23 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2269
Updated Question #10.

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 12:33 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 04, 2015
Posts: 4649
Location: Alchemist's Refuge
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
Answers


And after I hit post I get to look at Jim's answers to compare them with mine.

_________________
Former Rules Advisor (RA program ended 5-3-16)

Up High, Down Low, Whoops, Too Slow.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:42 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 07, 2015
Posts: 256
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
My rules knowledge is atrophying.

Spoiler


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:21 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 04, 2015
Posts: 4649
Location: Alchemist's Refuge
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
I just realized something: I answered 5 under the assumption the Waker that animated the Island was no longer on the battlefield, but the question doesn't specify whether it is still on the battlefield or not.

_________________
Former Rules Advisor (RA program ended 5-3-16)

Up High, Down Low, Whoops, Too Slow.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:51 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 8934
My Answers

_________________
"Enjoy your screams, Sarpadia - they will soon be muffled beneath snow and ice."

The Coalition/Phyrexian War Game Rises Again


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:01 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2269
Here's the answers! Most of you got most answers correct, but so far all were off on the bonus ;-)

ANSWERS


And the grading for people who responded before the 24 hours was up!

Thanks Jim! I've always enjoyed putting these up. It's just a fun way to get pumped for the new set. I love seeing card interactions. I might not be that great at coming up with good ones, but I think this set's quiz has more spots to trip people up than before. If you or anyone comes up with good quiz questions for future stuff, let me know!

Scores

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Last edited by Yarium on Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:59 am, edited 2 times in total.

Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:26 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 07, 2015
Posts: 256
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
Regarding 5:
Spoiler


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:37 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2269
adeyke wrote:
Regarding 5:
Spoiler

Thanks, I was having trouble explaining it. Will update the answer, but the correct response(s) remains the same.

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:37 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5316
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
Spoiler

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:31 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 8934
Well I missed basically what I had a gut instinct that I was missing, with the odd bonus of actually getting one of the shared life questions rightfor the wrong reasons.

_________________
"Enjoy your screams, Sarpadia - they will soon be muffled beneath snow and ice."

The Coalition/Phyrexian War Game Rises Again


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:25 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 04, 2015
Posts: 4649
Location: Alchemist's Refuge
Identity: Male
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
Yarium wrote:
Edacade - 9/10


That's not what I said, but I can see where you'd misunderstand what I said.

_________________
Former Rules Advisor (RA program ended 5-3-16)

Up High, Down Low, Whoops, Too Slow.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:26 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 07, 2015
Posts: 256
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
I'm sorry about my jerkiness.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:53 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2269
adeyke wrote:
I'm sorry about my jerkiness.

You're pure jerk.

Image

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:17 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 28, 2016
Posts: 1796
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him/his/his/himself
rules, bluh

_________________
nice quotes from this forum


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group